Fender Bass300 BXR

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by tbitsky, May 25, 2005.

1. tbitsky

Apr 15, 2005

How do we feel about the Fender Bass 300 BXR for $100. Worth it? Crappy amp? Decent enough for small->medium live gigs?

I want to see if it's worth a drive to check it out.

2. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather

Is it the combo or head only? I think they were decent amps when they first came out. I bought a BXR200 and for only 200w it was a loud amp! The BXR300 is 300w if an extension speaker is used but alone it's 200w IIRC! For $100, if it's in good to excellent condition, I'd buy it!
  3. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    I have the BXR100, and it's a great sounding amp, but it's HEAVY. Very heavy. Stupid heavy.
  4. huskies90

May 17, 2004
    I have a Fender 300 bxr-c combo I used for years when I was in college and then after I graduated. It was my only amp for many years and I played many gigs with it. I have some more $$ now so I have since upgraded but I still use the bxr for practice. When I gigged with it, I always had enough volume to be heard over drums. Today, I have tried hooking the head up to my Eden cabs and believe it or not, it did not sound all that bad. The 15 speaker that came with the combo was very "booming" and would sometimes get muddy.

It is a great "middle of the road" amp. Are there better ones out there? Yes, but for $100 you could do a lot worse.

Are you looking at just the head or the whole combo?
  5. I had one also a few years ago.Mine was always loud enough to be heard in a classic rock band with a couple of guitars,Hammond B3 and a loud drummer.For sure not the best sounding but it sounded pretty good to me till I upgraded to a Trace Elliot rig. $100 for a giggable combo that sounds good is a steal.
  6. loendmaestro

Jan 15, 2004
    Vienna VA