Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Classic Series

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Virus, May 31, 2004.

1. Virus

Virus

Apr 16, 2004
    Ontario
    As a progressing bassist I'm starting to save up for a new bass, a jazz bass at that and I'm debating whether or not it's worth it to spend the big cash on a MIA or not. I've been looking at the Classic 60's Jazz but I can't seem to find where they make them. On the price list they are about $900 USD so a bunch more CDN. (lol I don't remember what the exchange is at right now)

So my question is, are the classic series basses MIA or do they make them all over the place like their other basses?

2. bennettsteve

bennettsteve Guest

Dec 14, 2002
    That particular bass is MIM, as indicated by the 013 prefix in the part number.

3. Virus

Virus

Apr 16, 2004
    Ontario
    Thanks didn't notice that.

wow. $900 for a MIM bass...

If you can't already tell I'm looking for as close as possible to vintage sound and look. Not into Active and EQ'ing that much, so would a standard MIA be good to buy than? Can't afford the American Vintage Series.

4. byrdsfan

byrdsfan

Feb 9, 2004
    L.I.
    I got a 57 P reissue off Ebay for $649. It's a beaut. Mine's red. i also saw a 57 P sunburst in a music store and it was even more impressive but twice as much. Id say look for one of these reissues on ebay. They are luxurious looking and sound great, and of course are passive all the way.
    No if only the lead guitarist liked the pickguard.
    ;)

5. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    The 60's classic bass is MIM, I must admit they are very well made and sound excellent. Not a bad alternative to a MIA bass. Feel is different, specs are also different. I like them!
    Also, I've seen these basses new w/gig bags for less than $700 bucks