1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fender Supertwin suitable for bass?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by De Teng, Apr 9, 2006.

1. De Teng

De Teng

Oct 27, 2003
    Utrecht, Holland
    While I've been playing for about four years on a hybrid amp, the Peavey T-Max, my guitaristblood began flowing through my veins again. I wanted to score a powerful tube amp, which could handle bassresponses too, with a nice guitar. Searching local sales, I ran into a Fender Supertwin, tubes 4 years ago checked and hardly used ever since. Cosmetically just normal use flaws, but no real problems.

fender_supertwin.

180W for guitarsound is in fact way too much. But.. talking about bass it ain't a problem to have some power extra, oh yeah... headroom.. uhhuh.

Anyway.. quality-wise.. has anyone experience with this one and how suitable are the speakers for bass (fivestring) for instance? Other details.. feel free to drop here!

Dislikes: 2.12" speakers, heavy, ...?

:bassist: Thanks in advance!

2. jondog

jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area
    Does it have an open backed cab? If so, it is only good for practicing w/ a bass. If you can bypass the speakers and send the signal to an efficient bass cab you might be able to do small/medium gigs.

3. BillyB_from_LZ

BillyB_from_LZ Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2000
    Chicago
    Well, the internal speakers wouldn't be suitable for playing loud with a bass, the open back cabinet (and their design) will let them tear themselves apart.

I would "work" with a different cabinet but I'll guess that the output transformer isn't designed to reproduce the low frequencies of an electric bass too well...but maybe I'm wrong.

The EQ is probably voiced an octave higher than it should be too...