1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Finally played my first 5 string bass.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by blackba, Apr 16, 2010.

1. blackba

blackba

Sep 7, 2008
    Michigan, USA
    I have been playing since 1995, but always had 4 string basses. I just love the small neck of my Fender Geddy Lee Jazz bass.

Anyway, so I borrow a friend's Schecter Diamond Series Deluxe-5. He is trying to sell it actually. The neck didn't feel as wide as I feared and I found myself getting around pretty good. I didn't struggle as much with the B as I thought (since I general reference off the low E). Tonight I plan to play some new songs and see how it works in.

I do have some concerns about getting a 5string. If I get one, I think it will be a MM sterling5, as I loved the Sterling4 I used to have. Part of me wants to go for the Sterling5, the other says to play it safe and just get a Sterling4. Obviously I need to do a lot more testing and trying of 5 strings, particularly I need to try out a Sterling5.

After reading a bunch of 4 versus 5 threads, it seems that about about 75% of the people settle on either a 4 or a 5 and just stick with one most of the time. 25% seem to switch back and forth alot. The bass players I know in my area all use 4 strings, those that have tried 5 strings say they are not for them. One of those being the great bass player that is selling this Schecter 5. So that brings up some questions.

1. How easy is it to adapt to a 5 string being a long time 4 string player? (ie how many months)
    2. How easy is it to switch between a 4 and 5 string?