1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Finger-ease

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by TRichardsbass, Aug 17, 2012.

1. TRichardsbass

TRichardsbass Banned Commercial User

Jun 3, 2009
    Between Muscle Shoals and Nashville
    Bassgearu, Music Industry Consulting and Sales. Tech 21, NBE Corp, Sonosphere.
    I just used it for the first time. Works well.

I am curious if anyone uses it, and if anyone has used it on a satin finish and what happened.

2. msb

msb

Jul 3, 2002
    Halifax,N,S. Canada
    They still make it ?

I got a can when I first started to play . I found that as I started playing more the less I used it . Only bought the one can . Never finished it off . This would have been back around 1965 or so ...

Back then cheap instruments were generally awful things . Mine certainly was ...

3. Jaymi

Jaymi Pink Bass Man

Feb 11, 2008
    Nashville, TN
    Endorsing Artist: Jaydee Basses
    or you could eat some fried chicken.....works just as well ;)

4. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

Hate it. It never goes away!

5. bloobass

bloobass

Jul 10, 2012
    Louisville, KY
    I used it when I first started...then 2 things happened:
    1. I became a fan of the "Squire, Entwistle, Sheehan" school of a little finger noise and grit can be a good thing and give your tone some character
    2. I convinced myself that it was making my strings deader faster (being much older and wiser :rolleyes:, I realize this was probably not true, but I still subscribe to the first point, plus for me, the abrasiveness of the strings adds to the visceral impact I get from playing).
    To each their own though!

6. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains