Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Finger Exercises (beginner lessons)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by XavierG, Sep 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. [size=-2]I feel I sould state that I have been playing bass since 1971 - played professionaly in the early to mid 80's, and have been teaching bass, (prefering to concentrate on beginner bass technique & introduction to theory) for the past 10 years..... my students are, for the most part, aged 11-19, and most know nothing about playing bass when they come to me, just in case you're wondering where I'm coming from. My style of teaching is laid back, and sometimes unconventional... but kids are unconventional and so I adapt.[/size]

Okay, as promised - (in a repy to a thread in "Technique", I said I would post some exercises... here they are).

Many of you are probably much more advanced than this, if so, this is not for you. -- Use the lessons if you think they'll help you.

(I used a 4-string bass for these excercises)

Lesson - 1 Thumb + 2 Fingers (T+2 = Thumb/Index/Middle)

This is a simplified version of a well known Jaco riff. I modified it in order to make it easier for my young students to learn. This is not the way it was originally played. However, for you young guns out there that like to hang out at music stores, this is more than sufficient for the purpose of turning a few heads your way ;). We'll cover the original version in a future lesson.

The entire lesson is comprised of seven mp3 files as follows:.

Jaco T+2.mp3 (The main file)
    Jaco T+2 slow.mp3 (A slowed-down version of the main file)
    Jaco T+2 _1-6.mp3 (1st 6 notes) Included
    Jaco T+2 _2-7.mp3 (next 7 notes) Included
    Jaco T+2 _3-10.mp3 (next 10 notes) Included
    Jaco T+2 _4-7.mp3 (next 7 notes) To follow
    Jaco T+2 _5-15.mp3 (next 15 notes) To follow

Let's hop to it -