Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

finger streching techniques

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Viviuos, Jul 19, 2004.

1. Viviuos

Viviuos

Jul 15, 2004
    Nehawka, Nebraska
    Hi, im fairly new to bass and i havent played any other instriment for over 6 or so years. Because of that my fingers are a little reluctent to streach as much as i want them to. Are there any good streching ideas or other suggestions out there.

2. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

sometimes i try to reach as many semitones as i can from my pinky to my thumb on a piano.(not bass since theyre too far apart and change in distance) also remeber to use your pinky when you play. dont leave it there to do nothing.

3. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    Playing.

4. BenderR

BenderR

Jun 1, 2004
    Tucson, AZ
    No kidding, I have found that whenever my left hand is getting tight and I can't do some of my stretched out guitar chords all I have to do is woodshed some scales and arppegios on the bass. Of course one side effect was that I learned how to play bass so now I spend as much time playing bass as I do guitar.

5. CJK84

CJK84

Jan 22, 2004
    Maria Stein, OH
    Play with a light touch.

Keep your fingers, hand, wrist, forearm and shoulder relaxed. Press the strings as lightly as possible (if your bass is set up well, this should be only light/modest pressure).

Bend the knuckles. And maintain only light pressure between your thumb and the back of the neck.

Most of the time, keep all of your fingers parallel to the frets and keep all of them close to the strings.

For long stretches, pivot your hand when possible, using the thumb as the fulcrum.

The only stretching that I do is actually playing.

Good luck.

6. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'