1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

First Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Twospot, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Twospot

Twospot

Jan 1, 2012
    Toms River,NJ
    Happy New Year everyone! I am new to the forums. I want to start learning the bass guitar. I have begun the search for my new first bass. I don't like buying junk, even if I am a beginner at something. So I don't want a $150 Squier or Ibanez. I was at a local music store yesterday and I really like the fender Standard Jazz Bass MIM or the Blacktop Jazz bass. When I looked at the standard I really liked it. The guy at the music store suggested I try an Ibanez SR300 because the neck is much thinner so it would be easier to learn on. I tried it and I agree the neck is much thinner.

My question is if better basses normally have a thicker neck (I dont know if that's a true statement) why learn on a thin neck? If that statement is not true then by desiring a thinner neck does that limit your bass choices in the future. The guy at the music store told me once you can play you can play any size neck.

I guess my thinking is if most basses runn thicker then these Ibanez basses I would think I'd want to get comfortable on the thicker necks right off the get go. Also any decent beginner bass model suggestions are appreciated! Thanks!

Twospot

2. XtheDeadPawn

XtheDeadPawn

May 24, 2008
    Texas
    I applaud you on not wanting junk and I'd suggest you get more than those two basses in your hands.