First build thread 'Roberts JB4'

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by roberthabraken, Jan 23, 2009.

1. Hi there, going to start my first build after weeks of reading, drawing and thinking about building my own bass! Very excited about this! I have some wood working experience, but not much (I built RC planes in the past and always liked working with wood) and I am a musician for about 20 years (saxophone / guitar / bass)..

Some specs I have in mind:

- Mahogany body with nice top & laminated center (ash / sucupira e.g.).. semi-hollow /w tone holes, maybe with a transparent red finish
    - Indian rosewood fingerboard /w 24 frets, no inlays and almost flat (40" radius or something like that)
    - Wengé neck (or maple... not sure)
    - 4 Strings
    - Ultra Jazz pickups from DiMarzio / passive / only 2 volume controls
    - All golden hardware (Gotoh bridge and tuners)

And a photo of the design, paper template and plywood (for the template):

[​IMG]

Still working on the headstock design..

I'll keep you posted!

2. T2W

T2W

Feb 24, 2007
    Montreal, Canada.
    well that is an awesome design ! have fun with the build !

3. Jeronimofesto

Jeronimofesto Luthier: JC Basses

Oct 17, 2006
    Auburn, CA
    Looks great. I like the sound holes a lot.

4. I made some progress today.. it's a slow build, or at least, for now, because I had to clean up a bit and create a decent working space first. Also bought me a new jigsaw, with more power and accuracy. It is capable of handling thicker wood, so maybe I am going to do the rough cut of the body blank with my jigsaw too... saw some band saws, but they cost a little more than I want to spent on tools for now.

So here's some photos of the plywood template. I am happy with the result, but still needed to fill some minor gaps. Next thing is sanding it to a real smooth template, so I'll be on this for another day I guess..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

5. That's going to look really great!

6. SirBass

SirBass

Jan 1, 2007