First Gig with my Line 6 Relay G75; Very Nice!

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by walterw, Jun 12, 2016.

1. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Commercial User

Feb 20, 2009
    alpha-music.com
    i've been rocking a relay G50 for a few years now and it's been fine, but getting pretty beat up; i'd already replaced the old plastic jack on the beltpack with a custom-rigged up metal one, and i've started noticing issues where the range was just not very good compared to the shure GLX D and some other analog shure that my bandmates use. the pack's battery door was also kinda fiddly.

the G75 caught my eye because it uses regular 1/4" cables and regular AA batteries (unlike most others) and because it claims a latency (the one real hurdle of digital sound) of less than 1.5ms! the older relay and even the otherwise nice shure GLX-D are at like 4ms, not huge but not nothing, either.

the G75 set up easily, was rock solid even when we ran around the back of the upstairs of the club (except for one weird little dead zone in the stairwell), and (didn't expect this) seemed to sound better.

i set the "cable-tone" simulation to mimic a 10' cable (something the shure doesn't have) which sounded just right, clear but not too "active" (i play a passive P bass).

the box has a "scan" feature where you turn your pack off, hit "scan", and it searches through its 10-12 whatever channels to find the clearest one; once it decides, set your pack to that channel (very easy up/down buttons) and off you go. mine always picked "1" or "2".

the pack is really beefy metal, with a pull-down sliding door to get to the batteries and settings. the pack also has a neat feature you can set where if you just turn your instrument down and set it on the stand, after two minutes with no movement and no signal the pack shuts itself off! it instantly fires up again as soon as you move it.