Flea Fender active bass high action

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by cesar200791, Jul 22, 2021.

1. cesar200791

cesar200791

Feb 29, 2016
    Hi there, this is my first post, I'm sorry if there is already a topic about this.
    I recently bought this bass and it's a really great bass, I've been playing bass for 14 years and this is my first fender ever, I have an Ibanez sr1600, and a Warwick German Corvette, so I'm not used to this type of body and neck, but I am getting used to it very quickly, I like that there is no open wood so it doesn't need that much care of the wood, cuz that is such a pain with my Warwick.

Anyway, my problem is that I feel the action high after 12th fret, it's not terrible but I already set the bridge as low as I could, and I'm very used to set the action extra low, and I can get it with the Ibanez and the Warwick, but I can't with this fender, and it doesn't even buzz or anything, so I know it could be lower and sound good l, but I can't do anything else, the neck is fine, I checked the truss and it's surprisingly fine, I didn't even have to adjust it , so I think that it's just the type of bass that has the action higher, I want to know if any of you has experience with Warwick or Ibanez type bass and with fender basses, please tell me if it's normal that the action is higher than Warwick or Ibanez, because this is my first fender, I'm even thinking in modify the bridge so it can be lower, or if there is some adjustment I'm missing, I'd appreciate some help over here.
    I'm sorry for my English, it's not my first language, and also is my first post, love y'all bass community

2. Mr. Jiggy Fly

Mr. Jiggy Fly Supporting Member

Welcome to Talkbass.

Sounds like your neck has too much relief. Does the truss rod adjust at the heel end or headstock end? How did you check the truss rod? With a straightedge or eyeballing it?