1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Gallien-Krueger 400RB-III Help!!!!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bh7697, Apr 8, 2009.

1. bh7697

bh7697

Apr 8, 2009
    I got a sweet deal on a head and its sitting in my jam room as i speak. Unfortunately, i dont know what to do about a cab.

It has 2 output jacks on the back, and is capable of pushing 240 watts @ 4 ohms into 1 cab or 150 watts @ 8 ohms into 2 cabs.

I'm new to this, since ive been a combo playing guy so I have a few questions.

I wanted to have a full stack of probably a 1x15 cab and a
    2x10 cab on top, running 8 ohms each. I don't have the money for the whole thing, just the 1x15 for now. Its a yorkville 1x15 extension cabinet, but it has 2 speaker inputs on the back. If i were to run 1 cable from the head to the cab, would i be running at 4 or 8 ohms? am i supposed to run 2 cables to the cab? Also i want to know if this applies to all cabs, also if i were to run a 4x10 4 ohm cab.

Thanks alot, sorry for the lengthly question.

2. DanRJBrasil

DanRJBrasil

Jun 10, 2007
    you have to check the impedance of the cab, usually is 4 or 8ohms

3. DevilTheory

DevilTheory

Jan 6, 2009
    Illinois
    The 4 ohms and 8 ohms thing you mentioned doesn't work that way.

2 8 ohms cabs hooked to it = a resistance of 4 ohms, and so you'd get the full 240 watts with 2 cabs.

I'm not sure about that cab, but I'm pretty sure the other output is for another cab. You could run cables to each cab form the head, or a cable from the head to the cab and then another cable from the cab to the other cab. If both cabs are 8 ohms, with one hooked up it would be 8, and with both it'd be 4, whether they're in series or parallel.

If I'm wrong, someone correct me please.

4. JanusZarate

JanusZarate Low End Avenger Gold Supporting Member