1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Gear for a 3 piece rock trio

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by JamesXP, Jul 28, 2012.

1. I'm currently a bassist for a 3 piece rock trio, currently using a very old H&H 15 inch combo, it's not exactly cutting the mustard for larger gigs anymore and the pots are all very crackly anyway...

I'm looking to get a new rig, i'm looking for a seperate amp/cab combo but i'm not sure what's good I'm the UK and things here are generally alot more expensive than stateside.

Trying to do this on a relatively low budget and I have no problem with going used!

At the moment the only pedal I use is a korg pitchblack for tuning, what other pedals would suitable for my uses?

We're a covers band covering classic rock from the 70s

2. And to add it will need to be able to hold it's own in pubs/clubs without PA support

3. How low is relatively low? If you're budget conciuos used is the way forward.
    I also live in the UK and see a lot of Ashdown stuff around me. It tends to be fairly good quality (for the price) and sounds prety nice. I bet one of their (used) amp heads would suit your needs.
    If you have to hold your own without PA support try to find a nice 2x12 or larger. Don't skimp on the cab, if you are restricted by budget, again, search used. Nice bass and nice head through poor cab = poor tone.

4. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Love pedals, but the only one you might truly need is some distortion. No idea what prices are in the UK or what gear is readily available, though.

5. Talking less than 500 for the amp/cabinet ideally!