1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Gear upgrades to improve live sound

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by brumshine, Jul 20, 2012.

1. brumshine

brumshine

Apr 27, 2012
    I'm a new bassist and could use some gear recommendations for playing small-medium sized bar gigs. I'll admit my technique is sub-par, would a compressor help? My band is an all original rock band, sounds kinda like black flag.

Current Gear
    OLP 5 string
    Eden WTDI preamp / DI
    Acoustic B200 combo

Thanks,
    BRUMSHINE

2. modulusman

modulusman Banned

Jan 18, 2004
    montana
    You have a compressor in your WTDI.

3. gjbassist

gjbassist Supporting Member

Sep 7, 2005
    Kansas City, MO
    Are there specific issues you are currently having with your sound? Are you running through the PA as well as the combo?

4. brumshine

brumshine

Apr 27, 2012
    I usually have the sound guy take the DI from the amp and not my wtdi. I'd say my tone sounds "great when I play right" but the complaints I have stem mostly from bad technique. I have a few dead spots on my neck that I really have to use some force to get the non-fretted out sound. If I pluck too hard the WTDI overdrives and makes fart noises. I have also have a lot of string noise from not muting the 4 others while playing. I was hoping there was a magic box that could help me suck less!

To my ear, the compressor on the wtdi doesn't do a heck of a whole lot. shouldn't it act as a filter for some string noise and even out the volume and attack of notes?

5. modulusman

modulusman Banned

Jan 18, 2004
    montana
    The compressor works fine on the Eden. You have to be careful setting the DI up to avoid the overdriven signal. It sounds to me like you need a better bass if you have dead spot issues.

6. Martin89

Martin89

Nov 8, 2010