1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gearing up for live shows

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by kbakerde, Mar 1, 2013.

1. kbakerde

kbakerde

Jan 24, 2012
    Hey guys,
    I am a bassist in my mid 30's. I played in a band back in college, but it was just a basement band, and since then I have just been a bedroom player. I have recently began jamming with other players recently and am possibly hooking up with a guy putting together a band to do live shows and cut an album. This guy already cut an album almost totally on his own that is pretty good.

So I have never really played live other than some open mic nights, and it will take a while before the band comes together at a performance level. But I want to be prepared, and want to know what, if anything, I am missing that is crucial/recommended/desired for a gigging bassist. Here is what I have at my disposal:

Basses - I have two basses in my stable right now, Fender Jazz with active pickups and a P-Bass I put together. I will be adding a third in the next 6 months as my SGD Lutherie powered Fenderbird comes together.

Amps - I have a Bassman 135 and 215 cabinet I love the sound of, and it can get pretty loud. If that can't hack it, I sold my BG250 to the guy I would be playing with, and I could combine it with my Ashdown 515 for a makeshift 350w 215 stack. The Bassman also has a 1/4" line out to go to a PA.

Other - I have a headstock tuner, cables, cases for the guitars, I have an old passive direct box, and an old AB Switch Pedal.

Thanks for your help.

2. Worshipbass12

Worshipbass12

Feb 23, 2013
    Nw georgia
    I would recommend a pedal tuner, my headstock tuner can get a little crazy with all the vibrations at a live show especially when on a portable stage

3. oerk

oerk

Oct 16, 2009
    Bavaria
    DI box would've been my answer, but you seem to have that covered.