Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

General amp question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by LukeMan970, Jun 22, 2005.

1. LukeMan970

LukeMan970

Jun 22, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    when doing gigs what do you guys do, i only have a 300 watt amp so what would i do to get the sound out to a bigger audience, like i want to get a ampeg svt 3 but i don't know if thats enough power to do bigger gigs.

2. If you just want to increase volume, you'll get farther by adding more speakers. 300W can get loud.

3. LukeMan970

LukeMan970

Jun 22, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    so it would be split to 150 watts or so to each cab? i'm a noob when it comes to amps and cabs and such.

4. +1 more speaker surface = more volume

5. Thing is, im betting you have a solid state amp, and with a single cab its probably not running the full 300 watt

And if its an all tube 300 watt, you dont need louder :p

6. LukeMan970

LukeMan970

Jun 22, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    would you still get the same tone by running it through a PA, i've always wondered if you loose tone because of a PA.

7. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    You definitely get a different sound running DI without an amp through a PA...But plenty of people like the sound that way too.

I prefer to use the DI on my amp, which outputs after the preamp/EQ stage, so I get some of the amp tone into the house.

The SVT 3 doesn't have the best reputation when it comes to being loud. In fact, it's known to be a tame 300w.

I play a 300watt amp for my rig...no problems. I use either 2 or 3 12 inch speakers.

8. the SVT 3 Pro isnt 300 watts, i take thats what your meaning, dont know about the original SVT 3 (which i think existed)

9. Bluesbob

Bluesbob

Mar 13, 2000
    Springfield, TN