1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Get the funk(smell) out

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Hiking Viking, May 28, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Hiking Viking

Hiking Viking

May 28, 2018
    As I am new to playing bass at the tender age of 53, I'm going to probably be asking this group a lot of really stupid questions so..
    I bought a bass from Craigslist, the the guy had two old German Shepherds so the house smelled like dog. didn't think much of it . But when I got home it smelled like the dog had been living in the guitar case with the bass I mean it was really strong. any suggestions on how to remove this smell from the guitar and the case?
    Thank you

spaz21387 likes this.
  2. T_Bone_TL

T_Bone_TL

Jan 10, 2013
    NW Mass/SW VT
    Best one - take the case outside, burn / dump in trash, get new case.

Remove strings (I'd suggest new ones as the funk will be trapped deep in the windings, and being me, I'd suggest tapewounds) and completely clean the bass, leaving it outside in the sunshine whenever possible. Do not associate it with a case until it and the case are both dog-stench free. Take some lemon oil to the fretboard, you'll be amazed at how much crud comes off most basses - it's much easier to do a good job with the strings off. What you clean the rest of the bass with depends a lot on what the bass is finished with - typical polyurethane finish is tough, so most household cleaners are fine, nitrocellulose is fussier and someone other than me could better advise about that.