Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Getting a New Bassists Started

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Mud Flaps, Oct 14, 2003.

1. Mud Flaps

Mud Flaps

Feb 3, 2003
    Norton, MA
    On Oct. 13, my bro had his birthday. I gave him my old amp and my parents got him a Squire Jazz Bass. I did all the basic maintenaince on it first: I tuned it, broke in the strings, adjusted the truss rod, and tightened the loose knobs. I taught him some basic technique and theory too: the names of the open strings, how to read tab, and a lot of things which I take for granted. I can't remember how I first started to play. I am primarily self taught, I didn't start to take lessons till last month, he'll probably start soon too.

I guess my main question is: What can I get him that will help him progress and eliminate the bad habits which form from self tutoring?

This thread does seem rather self-contradictory since I mentioned the bass teacher, but answer anyway please.

2. Mud Flaps

Mud Flaps

Feb 3, 2003
    Norton, MA
    bump

Maybe this should be moved to General Instruction/technique

3. stephanie

stephanie

Nov 14, 2000
    Scranton, PA
    Well, of course, the first thing I'm going to say is why are you teaching him how to read tab? He would benefit more if he learned all the notes on the fretboard and then went on to reading music. You said you have just started taking lessons so maybe if you don't know how to read music yourself yet it would be fun to learn together and something to mention to your teacher that you would like to learn how to read music.