1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Getting a Ric sound...without the Ric $$

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BluesHolyMan, Jul 15, 2014.

1. BluesHolyMan

BluesHolyMan

Sep 28, 2013
    Let the blasphemy begin...

Is it possible to get close to a Rickenbacker sound without an actual Rickenbacker?

I am new to bass, have a recently acquired Fender Squire Vintage Modified Jazz Bass 70s, but love what I think is the Rickenbacker sound (can't afford that maple goodness yet.) Here are two examples of the sound I think I want:

Yes - Rhythm of Love, from Big Generator Album

Joe Jackson - Caravan, from the Duke Album

I would describe the sound as tight and focused, which to me implies some form of compression to the natural sound of the bass. I know Chris Squire used a Ric, not sure whats on Caravan.

I guess the question is, would there be a specific set of strings, such as Stainless that would do this sound or close to it on a Squire Jazz bass, and what processing might be needed? I know whatever strings squire used on his Ric will get the sound, but I am asking specifically how to get close on this Jazz bass...

Upgrading pickups is probably a given for additional clarity...

< end blasphemy>

2. I'd say you'd want Rotosound stainless steel strings (66s?). Chris Squire also uses a pick to give him that aggressive attack sound. That's all I gots...

3. Take any bass with less than 24 frets, then stick a pickup in the 24th fret position.

(he put the pickup under the pickguard)

4. sikamikanico

sikamikanico

Mar 17, 2004