Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Gis Spam- i am so stoked!

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by adrian garcia, Aug 22, 2004.

1. adrian garcia

adrian garcia

Apr 9, 2001
    las vegas. nevada
    Endorsing Artist: Nordy Basses, Schroeder Cabs, Gallien Krueger Amps
    last night, i got to play at the Shrine Auditorium in LA , where they hold the Grammies, Emmies, etc... what a cool gig!
    i was there with Martin Nievera, known as the Concert King in the Phillipines and with Patti Austin, who has always been a favorite vocalist, she of Quincy Jones fame and her many hits.
    carey Nordstrand came out and suppiled his own bass as backup and i played one of his creations.. just wonderful.
    That is what i love about this business, though i have been doing it for about 30 years, i feel like a kid in a toy store!
    next week, the Rosemont in Chicago :hyper: :bassist:

2. James Hart

James Hart

Feb 1, 2002
    toms_river.nj.us
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    congrats! How's the gitters playing at these major places? I played a couple spots in NYC over the years that i'd seen idols in my youth at... it was surreal.

3. adrian garcia

adrian garcia

Apr 9, 2001
    las vegas. nevada
    thanks, James- at this stage, no jitters , really, other than makingf sure i nailed Patti Austin parts, i have plaed the Martin Nievera charts before. it was a gas... Patti is super sweet, considering its usually Neil Stubenhaus, Nathan East or Louis Johnson , i was quite honored!

4. Wow! Great to hear, Adrian. Filling in for Nathan East would be quite an honor to say the least.

5. adrian garcia

adrian garcia

Apr 9, 2001
    las vegas. nevada
    well, i wasn't really filling in for him, is just a taste of what she is used to working with- this was Martins band, of which i am a member- she was stuck with me!

6. Hman

Hman