1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

GK MB150E-112 vs MB115 vs 400RB/112

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by AuxOne, Nov 8, 2010.

1. AuxOne

AuxOne

Sep 10, 2010
    Brooklyn
    I read through the GK Amp super thread, and it's a lot to take in. Can anyone provide their comments specifically regarding the Gallien Krueger MB150E-112 ($800) vs MB115 ($400) vs 400RB/112 ($200)?

I know the MB150E is the best, but does it really justify being twice the price of the MB115 but with a smaller sized speaker?

Since I'm just a hobbyist, I also found a used 400RB/112 online for half the price of the MB115 and from that perspective it's hard to justify even getting the MB115, let alone paying 4 times more for the MB150E.

In short, if I put up the cash for the MB150E will I, as a hobbyist, be able to appreciate the extra features that come with it? Or should I just get the 400RB/112 and be blissfully unaware.

I went to test them out at my local Guitar Center but the 400RB is discontinued, and the MB115 is so popular they are out of them.

Thanks!

2. shadygrove

shadygrove

Feb 14, 2008
    Marysville, WA
    It all depends on what you want to do with it. How loud a band? how large a venue? What kind of sound are you after?

You can find a lot of info on the MB150 over on the DB side...check the amp forum sticky. A lot of jazz players like it for its relatively uncolored tone compared to an amp like the 400 RB/112 that I think of as more of an electric bass amp. I'm guessing you have some sort of upright/EUB since you list Innovation slap strings on your gear ?