1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Going Ampless - Best DI Options, Challenges to Consider, Etc.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by spaceaceofbass, Aug 3, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Alright gang, I am sure there are already 100's of posts related to this topic and I plan to read through all of them. I am fairly new to Talkbass so please don't mind the noobness.

I play in a top 40/broadway standards country band. My band is officially going to IEM route within the next few weeks. The rig is built, my custom ears have arrived and our first IEM gig is coming up shortly. I also recently purchased a Mono double bass bag and a Pedaltrain Nano (condensing my board down from a much larger setup). I have a guitar Tick 2.0 on order for my Nano, and plan to fit my new board into there when it arrives. My goal is to be able to walk into a gig with everything on my back in the Mono case and Tick.

Bass and Amp wise I play a Fender Active Deluxe P Bass through a Fender Rumble Studio 40 for my live rig.

The only thing I have not overhauled yet is my pedal setup, which brings me to my question. My goal is to go completely ampless and run a bare bones pedal setup through my DI, into our IEM setup and from there to FOH. I currently run a Polytune into an MXR Super Comp (decent guitar comp that also works well on bass) and into a cheap, Livewire DI.

Right now I am looking into the Mesa Subway Bass DI paired with a Shure GLX-D wireless unit. I plan to add a compressor, although I am not sure which one at the moment.

Has anybody on here taken the ampless route? What are the challenges you have encountered? What would you do differently? What are your thoughts on DI's?

Thanks for reading.

Last edited: Aug 3, 2018
  2. pglaser01

pglaser01

Mar 19, 2013
    St. Louis, MO
    If only I were that good....