1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Going back to the basics...anyone else done this?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by glocke1, Dec 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. glocke1

glocke1

Apr 30, 2002
    PA
    Ive been playing for a couple of decades now, had tons of lessons, music theory classes, andjazz improve classes (still suck at Jazz also) so have a pretty good understanding of the bass up to what I would say is an intermediate or advanced intermediate level which by and large is good enough for me and the playing situations I find myself in.

I recently signed up for Scotts bass lessons.com, and have been going over some of the lessons there starting with some of the more basic lessons (starting with the major arpeggios course). Have to admit going back and reviewing some of this stuff is refreshing.

Anyone else who has been playing for awhile go back and work on the basics?

2. Torrente Cro

Torrente Cro

Sep 5, 2013
    Croatia
    Sort of, I started learning drums two months ago in hope that it will improve my bass playing.

3. bassdude51

bassdude51 "You never even called me by my name." Supporting Member

Nov 1, 2008
    Central Ohio
    I've been playing bass since the late 1960s and the older I get the more I understand and appreciate simplicity. Not only for bass lines but for all aspects of life.
    simplicity-equals-sanity.
    upload_2017-12-9_7-11-33.
    picture-id499544604?k=6&m=499544604&s=612x612&w=0&h=94mBS3hd8UqsJwMnV0My4FWMEL_5w4J-lwF-QW61qhE=.

andruca and Torrente Cro like this.
  4. BassChuck

BassChuck Supporting Member

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    Everyday. That's why they're called basics. The are the basis of everything you do.