1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Guidance for a Rig Novice

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by LuvMusic, Mar 8, 2008.

1. LuvMusic

LuvMusic

Aug 18, 2007
    Oak Park, IL
    TB'ers

I'm getting reeady to purchase my first rig. I recently started playing again after about 20 years away.

Things have changed so much, I thought I'd ask for some help and guidance.

I play mostly in my basement with my 12 and 10 year old sons (one plays guitar and the other plays drums). I do play with friends once in a while. No gigging yet. Also, I'd prefer to buy new, but, I'm keeping an open mind.

I want to spend less than $600.00 (US) and I've done some research here and on the wider web. Here are the alternatives I've identified, up to this point.

Heads:

GK Backline 600 (good reviews)
    Ashdown MAG 300 (good reviews and I like the analog VU meter)
    Nemisis NA320 (refurbished)

These are all about $300.00. And any insight into why there appears to be so many Nemisi NA320 refurbs around?

Cabs:

I tend to like the sound of 2x10's versus 1x15. Here is what I've found in my price range. These run 225.00 - 230.00:

GK 210 GLX
    Ashdown MAG 210T

That's whatI've identified up to this point. What else would you suggest I consider? What are your experiences with this equipment or equipment you would suggest I consider.

Thanks for the help!

2. dmilt23451

dmilt23451

Sep 5, 2007
    Dallas TX
    Well if you would consider going used you could definetly make that $600 stretch alot further...check out cl especially in chicago

3. LuvMusic

LuvMusic

Aug 18, 2007
    Oak Park, IL
    Good suggestion and I've been keeping an eye on CL in Chicago and the listings here. I've haven't found a whole lot yet and when I have, I've been too late! :crying:

Thanks!

4. rudedogg

rudedogg

Mar 23, 2007