Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Guide to keeping your bass clean

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Saorex, Oct 10, 2004.

1. Saorex

Saorex

Mar 7, 2004
    Quebec, Canada
    Hi guys.

I've used the search thread but couldn't find a complete guide. Only small advices here and there...

Ok. I've been playing bass for something like 7 years now. But I've never made a "good" cleaning to my instruments. And to be true, I don't have a clue of what should be done.

I'd like to have some advices on general cleaning (body, fretboard, strings...) and also ways to "hide" or repair minor scratches. Also, what products should I use to do all this work.

Thanks a lot guys! I love this place!

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Fill a bathtub with hot water and dishwashing liquid. Drop the bass in and let it soak for at least 20 minutes. Scrub with some steel wool, rinse, and blowdry. If you want the shine to come out compound it. Use a buffer if you've got one but sit on the neck as my bass flew out from under once and got scratched.

Uhhh.... or some people are nervous about doing all that... I actually prefer:

Ernie Ball guitar polish for the whole thing. If it's really gunked up I use a drop of of soap in some water and a damp sponge. I actually scrub my neck a bit with one of the coarse (but non abrasive) sides of a dishwashing sponge. I make sure though that it's just damp, and I dry immediately with a rag. I don't believe wood warps as quickly and easily as people tend to think, but I don't take any chances anyhow. I've used a Q-tip and windex to get around metal parts that are difficult to get to. Not sure what else there is?