1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Guitar Amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by cowgard, Apr 16, 2010.

1. cowgard

cowgard

Apr 16, 2010
    I'm a drummer and have been learning some guitar for fun. I decided to learn some bass also so I just bought a Squier Vintage Modified Jazz bass. I was going to spend a couple of hundred bucks for a bass combo amp to use for practice and God forbid I ever get enough nerve to jam with the rock band I have been playing drums with for the last 8 years.
    Within my budget I wouldn't get more than about 15 watts into an 8" or 10" speaker. Not really enough to rock with my grunge /metal band even in the rehearsal studio.
    I have a 100 watt solid state guitar amp head and an empty, closed back speaker cab. I have searched for info on the evils of playing bass thru a guitar amp but only come up with stuff relating to speakers.
    I guess I've turned this short question into book but here it is. If I put a decent quality 15" bass speaker into my cab and run it with Epi Triggerman amp head, would that make a decent poor guy bass rig? Thanks, David

2. waleross

waleross

Nov 27, 2009
    South Florida
    I can't answer what you are asking. Why not try to find a cheap practice bass amp. People are selling stuff all the time. Put your ceiling at say $75, somebody will bite sooner or later....:cool:

3. cowgard

cowgard

Apr 16, 2010
    I guess since no one else knows, I'll find out for myself. Can't imagine it wouldn't work pretty well on the clean channel with some EQ fiddling. I ordered an Eminence bass speaker so I'll find out this week. David

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX