head recommendation in the $600 range?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hiros, Jun 15, 2005.

1. hiros

Jan 12, 2005
    In getting up to speed with all the amp options out there, I'm looking for a recommendation for a head priced new at around $600. I'm a guitarist moving to more bass playing and a first time bass amp buyer.

Instead of getting a combo, I decided to purchase a head and borrow a friend's 15" cab (some obscure brand I can't recall - very beat up condition) until I really get a feel for what I need. I figure that getting a head is the most flexible approach and that I will do the research on cab options at a later time.

I play a MIM jazz bass with a pick, standard fingerstyle, and muted thumb. I rarely ever slap or pop and don't like my sound to be "hi-fi". I like a warm solid tone with a hint of growl for more rock stuff. I don't need the more extreme sounds found in a lot of metal or contemporary pop. Somewhere between McCartney and Me'shell is where I would like to be.

Thanks in advance.
  2. GK 800RB
    Kustom Groove Bass
    Sunn 1200s/Fender Bassman 1200 PRO
    Genz Benz GBE 600
  3. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
  4. chaosMK

May 26, 2005
    Albuquerque, NM
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    You can get a Mesa head in that range off ebay.
  5. Yorkville XS400 should be around that price.
  6. Luckydog

Luckydog Supporting Member

Dec 25, 1999
    You said, "warm solid tone with a hint of growl for more rock stuff"

I'd look for a used SVT-II (non pro version). They can sometimes be had for around $600.
  7. Quadzilla

Quadzilla Supporting Member

For a new head (not used), I'd recommned the a Kustom Groove Bass 1200 or GK 1001RB II for sure depending on your playing style.