HELP 410 cab question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Heavision, Aug 16, 2022.

1. Heavision

Heavision

Aug 16, 2022
    Yo. Just signed up. I’m actually a guitarist.

Situation: I want to buy a 410 bass cab for my friend/bassist in my band. I got a local guy who builds standard (guitar) 410s. I’ll be ordering an empty cab, no speakers. He uses Baltic birch, finger joints etc; all the features a good, standard cab has.

Question: what upgrades make it a good BASS cab? Guys have suggested ports, internal bracing and, of course, good bass-specific speakers. Thanks y’all

2. 20220330_132004.jpg

3. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    Guitar cabs are not the same as bass cabs. You can't just slap some speakers in a box. You want to help your friend, contribute to buying a cab from a known company.

4. Guitar cab design vs bass guitar cab design is like chalk vs cheese. A massive difference in almost every aspect and a few searches on Talkbass will inform you better.

5. Hey! Welcome!
    You made the correct move to come here first and ask your question. So many jump in first and end up here later wondering what went wrong. Just as playing the bass is very different from playing guitar, so is the science, engineering and technology involved in bass cabs. And you probably avoided wasting a lot of $$$.

Do a little searching around here and you'll find a wealth of information just about how bass cabs and speakers are different. And that's even before you get into the details of it.

This arguably is one of the favorite subjects here. I'm sure plenty of folks will chime in, so stick around.

6. mmbongo

mmbongo I have too many basses. Supporting Member

Definitely a very wise move to ask for information before wasting all that money.