Help! - Constructing Melodic Basslines

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by str8_bourbon, Apr 6, 2005.

1. Hello! I'm new on this site, I'm not quite sure that this post belongs on this forum, but I'll give it a shot.

I was given a bass around a year ago, I started practicing by readings tabs on the net and playing with songs. It was not until recently that I took bass playing seriously, I tried learning a little theory through web sites and books. I haven't taken lessons yet, so I really don't know much.

I have a couple of friends who play guitar, and we've recently tried writing our own stuff. I was wondering if anyone could give me a few pointers regarding bassline construction? I've read the article on that subject on this site, but I still have a few questions.

So far I know that when you write a bassline, you can use the root notes of the given chord, and throw in some leading tones, in order to make the bassline sound more melodic, interesting. My question is, do these leading tones have to be chord tones(of the given chord) or scale tones(of the given key)? Can notes out of the given chord and scale be used? If so, in what circumstances?