1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Help! Double bass beginner- bluegrass a good idea?

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by ladysingstheblues, Jun 17, 2014.

1. Hi, a question from a total beginner with a new double bass and a couple of lessons under her belt. Bear with me, please!

Although I am more interested in jazz, I've enjoyed old timey music live before.

A friend of mine suggested a bluegrass/old timey music as an easy starting point with a lot of of simple root 5 intervals. I don't have any understanding yet of chord progressions - although this is something I'm keen to internalise competently ASAP.

In fact, there is an informal bluegrass jam near me every week - could that be a good start to playing simple things? Would love any advice!!

Thanks so much.

2. BobKay

BobKay Supporting Member

Nov 5, 2012
    Estero, Florida; USA
    I think it's always good to play with others. That said, while most of us who play bluegrass are very welcoming to beginners, it would be helpful if you have a basic understanding of the bass. Knowing the position of the notes on each string will be a good start and help yup follow the progression.

old spice and ladysingstheblues like this.
  3. Thanks, bob - I am reading Simandl exercises and will be working hard on getting those basics as second nature (or close) firstly! Good point.

4. DWCJR

DWCJR

Jun 3, 2014
    To my way of thinking, bluegrass and jazz have more similarities than one might first think. Swing tunes like Sweet Georgia Brown have crossed into the bluegrass repertoire, thanks in large part to David Grisman and other dawg/newgrass musicians.