1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

HELP!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by CarmenWilliams, May 18, 2018.

1. CarmenWilliams

CarmenWilliams

May 18, 2018
    I'm originally a guitar player but now I play bass in a band. I must say, I love it. But I'm very new to the bass world. So I have a few questions:

I currently play through a Fender Bassman 250w/210 combo amp (https://www.amazon.com/Fender®-Bassman®-250-watt-Amplifier-speakers/dp/B001R2LYYG) It's great and I love it.
    I'm not really an Ampeg fan. I love Mark Bass amps but I think it might be too "clear" and crisp for the style I play (hard rock/alternative metal). So from what I've heard on YouTube (haven't played them unfortunately) but Mesa Boogies sound pretty good.

Now.. I'm thinking about getting a 215 cab (I want something slightly more powerful than my 210). Then a power amp. Then possibly the ISP Beta Bass DSP pedal (BETA BASS DSP™ - ISP TechnologiesISP Technologies) or the ISP David Ellefson Beta Bass DSP (DAVID ELLEFSON BETA BASS DSP™ - ISP TechnologiesISP Technologies).

I've also heard of the brand Trickfish.

Bass player sounds I like:
    Amos Williams (TeseracT)
    Kirkpatrick Seals (Flyleaf)

Should I just go for a mess amp and cab? Or the power amp route? Mesa is expensive but is it worth it?
    I have an orange 212 cab for guitar playing but do they make good bass cabs?
    Sorry for all of the questions!

2. BadExample

BadExample

Jan 21, 2016
    Injiana
    If you can, get out and try before you buy.

Should I just go for a mess amp and cab?

Yes

Or the power amp route?

No

Mesa is expensive but is it worth it?

Yes

3. For a beginner you sure have some GAS but do you have money to burn?

Ideally you could get by with your combo and a line into the PA but there's always those Animal and SRV types and no PA help.