1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Hofner bass Japan

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by BenDMD, Jan 15, 2019.

1. BenDMD

BenDMD

Jan 15, 2019
    Hey guys,

I am having trouble dating this Japanese Hofner 500/1 Bass. I believe the serial # is 06916 but I could not find any results with that. The pickguard doesn't look original and the headstock logo appears to be missing.

I am not an expert so I'm hoping you guys might be able to help me

Thank you,
    Ben

Attached Files:

HaphAsSard likes this.
  2. 96tbird

96tbird PLEASE STAND BY

Look at the pots for date codes.

3. BenDMD

BenDMD

Jan 15, 2019
    I do not have the guitar, just these pictures to go off of

4. Thornton Davis

Thornton Davis

Dec 11, 1999
    Toronto
    This is not a Hofner. It's just an inexpensive knock-off. You'll never be able to determine when it was made.

TD

rockinrayduke likes this.
  5. BenDMD

BenDMD

Jan 15, 2019
    wow, how can you tell it's a knock-off?

6. GIBrat51

GIBrat51 Innocent as the day is long Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2013
    Lost Wages, Nevada
    Two things, mainly:
    1. The neck plate says "Japan"; Hofners are made in Germany (or, in the case of their less expensive models, in their factory in China).
    2. The neck plate itself. Hofners are set neck instruments - like a violin. They don't have neck plates...
    And, just about everything else screams "Knock 0ff!" The head stock; the tuners; the controls; the tailpiece ; and especially that bizarre bridge. It might be a well made, nicely playing bass, but - it's not a Hofner...;)

7. BenDMD

BenDMD

Jan 15, 2019
    Wow I've never seen a knock-off guitar where they stole the brand name too. How can that even be legal?

8. BenDMD

BenDMD

Jan 15, 2019
    Thank you for your help

9. GIBrat51

GIBrat51 Innocent as the day is long Supporting Member

Mar 5, 2013
    Lost Wages, Nevada