how do you "drive" your band?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Bayou_Brawler, Jun 29, 2004.

1. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    here's the deal.

i'm in the middle of starting a funk / hip-hop band.

so far it's me on bass :bassist: , and my two good buddies on geeetar and drums.

we're looking to add rappers, vocals, dj, horns, etc....

so getting a band like this together will be no small task.

aside from being a solid bassist my strengths are motivation, orginization, vision, and getting everyone on the same page. spelling is not one of my strong points.

i know if i took a passive role NOTHING would happen...but at the same time i kinda feel like a boss or something pushing everyone, taking the lead role and what not.

anyone got any advice. help me spread the funk all over the land. :hyper:
  2. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    OK, if you're going to be the driver, here's what you need to do. First, get yourself a hair coat. This is a medieval jacket made of horse hair, and it's intensely irritating to the skin. So much so that it will rub you raw in a few hours. Wear that for a week or so, then take it off. Let your skin heal for two weeks, then put the coat back on for two weeks. Repeat this procedure for about six months.

OK, now your skin is thick enough to run the band. Stay focused on the direction you want the band to go. Be firm with practice expectations, and find good, committed musicians. If someone is headed in a different direction, invite them to leave. Be fair. Listen to the ideas of the others. Rule. You are god.
  3. Bayou_Brawler

Bayou_Brawler The most hurtful thing ever realized

Oct 23, 2003
    Ann Arbor, MI
    YES!!!! I AM GOD!!!!!!!!
  4. Humblerumble

Feb 22, 2004