How do you tune your bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Michael Favata, May 13, 2022.

1. I started playing in 1973. Back then there were no headstock tuners. The way we tuned was you found the E somewhere, maybe from a band mate, “give me an E” or maybe from a record, or a tuning fork, or if you were lucky enough to have a keyboard in the band you got it from them and everything was tuned to THAT low E.
    To do that once you got the low E (by ear) you fingered that E string in the 5th position and found the open A. Fingered the A string in the 5th position and found the open D and so on and so forth. So from the top down. It was necessary to do it that way. Then if you had time or maybe an old string you were struggling with you would fine tune with 12th position harmonics.

Skip ahead 50 years. All my guitars have headstock tuners. I have not asked for an E in over 20 years. Maybe longer. These days I find myself tuning from the high E up.
    E-D-A-E. Then I always fine tune from the low E down with 12th fret harmonics to finish. And ALWAYS tuning in to the note (not loosening but tightening)

Not sure why I started doing it that way some undetermined amount of years ago. I just do now. In the end my bass is in tune. So I guess it doesn’t matter. Or does it? What do you do? How do you tune your bass? Does anymore call for an E anymore lol?

2. Winslow

Winslow

Sep 25, 2011
    Group "W" Bench
    If playing with an on-site piano with an unknown state of accuracy in its tuning, yes, absolutely.

Some places/folks don't always keep them well maintained. :wacky:

3. Michedelic

Michedelic MId-Century Modern

One string at a time?:D
    If it’s just an informal situation, clip on tuner(Snark)but otherwise a pedal tuner(TC or Korg)on my board(s), but I also check against harmonics.

darwin-bass, ELG60, red_rhino and 2 others like this.
  4. JRA

JRA my words = opinion Supporting Member

headstock tuner. too easy!