1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

How does the kind of bow make a difference?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by chasyboy, Apr 28, 2009.

1. chasyboy

chasyboy

Mar 7, 2004
    OK...I'm a newbie and probably an obvious and stupid question but if you have good bowhair, what does it matter what 'kind' of bow you play? Does the wood/carbon of the bow translate into tone?

Could you get the best bow hair and put it on a fiberglass bow and be able to tell the difference from a high end wood bow?

I'm not talking about balance and playability but mere volume and tone.

Thanks in advance.

2. mje

mje

Aug 1, 2002
    Southeast Michigan
    The material, flex, balance, and resonance of the bow makes a HUGE difference- as a relatively newbie myself, I was amazed at the difference. I started with a solid glass bow, and when I bought a modest wooden Brazilwood bow from BobG I couldn't believe how much better it sounded. Then when I compared a better (~$800) bow, I was again knocked out. We're not talking tiny differences, but really obvious ones. Once you have enough technique to draw a good tone from the instrument, you'll notice the difference.

3. chasyboy

chasyboy

Mar 7, 2004
    Thanks, I did notice a volume difference from the bow from my teacher....so how does one go about finding a good bow...is it something you 'have' to try before you buy?

4. Definitely, because something should be noted here, with in each price level bows will all have good qualities and you have to find which one you like best. Some may be loud, but not a very full tone, others full tone, but quiet. This all has to do with the factors mentioned above. That said carbon fiber bows are more consistent from bow to bow. They are more similar because they are made in molds with almost identical materials.