Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How high the action?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by The Workman, Jul 23, 2004.

1. maybe someone can give a bit of advise? having been playing the db for 18 months, i've been a bass guitarist for 15 years, i find the high action on my student bass to really give me stamina problems. i've played a local orchestral players bass and his action is way low compared to mine, my question is this how low can i get it put considering i play be-bop? :confused:

2. olivier

olivier

Dec 17, 1999
    Paris, France
    This reminds me Mingus explaining in his fantasized autobiography how Bird onced put a nickel on the back of an old reed to burn a sizable amount of said reed and then proceeded to do the bebop thing, even on such unplayable a reed...

Part of the bebop attitude was to have incredible chops. Those young musicians seamed often very arrogant, but they had formal music training since their infancy. They could outplay lotsa people.

Anyhow, look for the setup that provides the best balance between sound and playability, with the eventual help of your trusted luthier. This will vary with chops. And keep going man, 18 month is good (only 4,5 years away from that stable and clean symphony job :D ;) ), don't give up. If bebop gives you a hard time, try something else on the DB for a while (scales, Simandl, Mike Richmond book, Arco, thumb pos, Western swing slap style, free improv, Bach's two part inventions, etc...) , and you'll be-bop lather on.

3. hi olivier thanks for the advice, i've been working on simandl for the start and the past six months have seen me start up a free-improv duo. this gives my hand some rest as i can lay back for a bit if i want. i think the solution would be to have one db with low action for the jazz and keep the current model for practice sessions etc.

4. olivier

olivier