1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How many hours to learn bass?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by IamGroot, Oct 6, 2019.

1. EatS1stBassist and RyanOh like this.
  2. mongo2

mongo2

Feb 17, 2008
    Da Shaw
    Learn to what level? I've been playing for decades and I'm still learning.

3. Samatza

Samatza

Apr 15, 2019
    Good question. It depends on the person, the type of music and the level they are trying to achieve. Doesn't take long to get into some easier tunes but if you want to learn how to read and be able to play in a professional setting you need to have dedication and put in lots of hours every week.

10,000 hours is 3.5 years if you practice 8 hours a day, 7 days a week. I think it's a bit too much.
    My son plays sax and practiced about 12 hours a week. After 2 years he played his first tour, he didn't have to do more than a few songs that featured the sax but he could read competently but now needs to get into a band that plays regularly to develop further.

I think that in 5 or 6 years he'll become very competent and would be able to fit into any gig with ease but you never stop learning. I've been playing over 40 years, still practice daily and still find some stuff challenging.
    Tunes that I've done before though are like auto pilot because I've played them enough to internalize them.

JC Nelson, IamGroot and Spidey2112 like this.
  4. Spidey2112

Spidey2112

Aug 3, 2016
    Bingo... I can better estimate the number of hours it takes, after I'm 6' under.

Wait a sec...

ruju, 12BitSlab, mongo2 and 4 others like this.
  5. I started in 1966. Last week I learned something new.:thumbsup:

For the record , I was able to play in a band after a couple of weeks. I had a few months of guitar before that. I am still nowhere near mastering either instrument.

Dunyet, chaak, ruju and 11 others like this.
  6. walking Bass