1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to Determine The Root Notes in Bass Lines?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by IAmNewToBass, Jan 9, 2017.

Tags:
  1. IAmNewToBass

IAmNewToBass

Jan 9, 2017
    When listening to the bass line in songs how do I determine the root notes? I am new to dissecting bass lines so at this stage when I'm trying to play by ear I guess each note one after the other until I get it right. It is a very time consuming process. I will have to use this method until I am able to hear and guess the right intervals. Based on everything I have read and heard the interval quality is always determined by the root note. Also the chord name and quality is determined by the root note. Is there a specific method to determine which notes in a bass line are the root notes verses the notes that are connecting the root notes? I think once I am able to determine the root notes when listening to a bass line it will make playing it a lot easier instead of the way I am doing it now. I appreciate the feedback. Thank you!

2. Listen to the components of the chords in the progression. Train your ear to hear the dominant note of each chord. The root is often doubled in the chord being played and tends to stand out.

For example, let's take a guitarist playing a three-chord progression of G-C-D-G

When he plays an open G chord in first position, the notes he plays are GBDGBG. That's three G notes. That should stand out to your ear. There are two C notes in his C chord, and two D notes in his D chord (first position).