1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to match head watts and cab watts?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jpowell, Sep 29, 2008.

1. jpowell

jpowell

Sep 15, 2008
    The more I have read in this forum the more confused I have become. I need accurate info on the above. I am a singer songwriter/acoustic guitarist that is also taking up bass. I have narrowed my choices to the following:

GK Backline 300W Amp - GK Goldline GLX 2x10 and 1x15 300W

GK 700RB11 480W Amp - Same as above

GK " " " GK RBX 2x10 400W and SBX 1x15 400W

I suppose I could pick up a used 1001RB11 if it would make any difference. Please respond if you feel you have ACCURATE info. Thanks!!

2. alexclaber

alexclaber Commercial User

Jun 19, 2001
    Brighton, UK
    Director - Barefaced Ltd
    Don't worry about it. A 2:1 ratio in either direction could help narrow your choices but it really isn't very important at all. Your cab will tell you when you're putting too much power into it by getting more and more distorted.

Alex

3. bongomania

bongomania Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Oct 17, 2005
    PDX, OR
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Right- the "accurate info" is that you need to listen to the speakers, and if they start flapping, buzzing, farting, etc. then you need you turn down the amp (and/or engage a limiter), dropping your peaks below the level that caused the speakers to fart/distort.

As long as you've got that in check, over/under doesn't matter. Also remember that the published specs are usually more of a "general guideline" than a "fact".

4. jtc_hunter

jtc_hunter

Feb 16, 2007
    I have the same amp and if I were doing it all over again, I would get 2 Avatar 112's 8 ohm ea. in LineX. You would save money, have a lighter pack, and just as good , if not better sound, and more durable cabs.

5. jpowell

jpowell

Sep 15, 2008