1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I can't get a good sound direct!

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by capofirstfret, Jan 18, 2012.

1. A little background.

I have an interdisciplinary degree in Applied Music and Audio Engineering. I definitely spent the majority of my time in college in the music department and basically considered myself a music major. Having said that, I did a lot of recording and audio engineering and even worked as an audio engineer for a blues club of some repute.

In all that time and all those records, I have *yet* to get a bass sound by going direct that I am happy with! I am never content with the sound of a bass recording unless the amp is mic'd. What am I doing wrong? Anyone else have this problem? I've tried different DI boxes, pre-amps, compressors, tube buffers, etc until I just can't come up with anything else.

It's an easy enough fix honestly, and that's just to go ahead and mic the amp. I've actually lately been using (I may get crucified for saying this) a VHT Special 6 Combo for recording bass sounds! 6 watts, 10" speaker, and it sounds amazing when recorded.

Anyone got a secret to direct bass recording that I may have overlooked?

2. MglMatador

MglMatador

May 5, 2010
    What about the sound did you feel lacking?

I find it depends mainly on the style of music. I've done tons of Jazz recordings direct that blended well, as the sound was mostly clean with a clear fundamental (and was relatively low in the mix). However for aggressive rock sounds I've always found I needed at least a preamp (like the Sansamp RBI) to get something that doesn't get killed in the mix. For dense mixes the mike'd cab fits better as you get a natural low pass filter running through a cab.