1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

I had a bad jam night!

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by zeppfan90, Mar 27, 2013.

1. zeppfan90

zeppfan90

Mar 27, 2013
    I've been playing bass for about 2 years now. I started going to a local blues jam and it is fun! I did really good the first 2 nights I went! I am the youngest player that goes, all the other jammers and the hosting band of the jam are much more experienced and older. Anyway, one of the guitarists wants to give me lessons because he teaches, he is a great guitarist! And I've jammed with him at the open jam and says I am pretty good for only 2 years under me. This last time though, I had my girlfriend, and a few friends from work to come watch me. For the first time when we up there to jam he just got in my ear the whole time. We were going to do a jam in Em and instead of letting me do what I have been and letting me feel the music he was telling me what to play and how to play it! I do not know why! he is much older and experienced so I got intimidated and just got really put under pressure. There is a time and a place for lessons right? And it is an open jam and he would not let me jam. They pulled me down after 2 songs and switched me with another, more experienced bassist. Usually I am up there for at least a half hour playing! It has just made me really feel unconfident about my playing now. What should I do about this? How should I feel? Thanks!

2. Stinsok

Stinsok Supporting Member

Dec 16, 2002
    Central Alabama
    You rock, he's a jerk.

3. zeppfan90

zeppfan90

Mar 27, 2013