1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I need help finding a starting place

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by brokenguitarist, Sep 25, 2020.

1. brokenguitarist

brokenguitarist

Sep 13, 2020
    I've been playing bass for a little over 3 months. I played guitar for a couple years, but my rhythm SUCKS! How should I learn rhythm? I can't subdivide for trash lol. I feel like when I think of the concept of counting I focus too much on counting and lose feeling the song...

I've been using chord sheets for songs I like and playing the root notes when the chords happen, but I'm not counting at all. I'm having fun doing this, but I don't want to be trapped here. What should I do?

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    If you can play on the one in a way that moves you, you're on the right path and everything will fall into place. Start simple and build from there. Forget subdivision for now. You are the bass player. You bring the funk.

3. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses
    I've played in about 100 bands, and performed in probably over 2000 shows (many of them being 3 set gigs). I can count on one hand the amount of times I'v actually had to COUNT in my head.

Unless you're playing things with odd timings, the idea that we must count is in my experience a myth.