Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

I suck at bass...

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Knavery, Mar 19, 2004.

1. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Denver, CO
    Hello everyone... I just bought a Pedulla Rapture J2000 5-string. It is a sweet bass, but I am playing out of an old Peavey 2x10 combo with a built-in limiter and compressor. I know I am not getting the full sound out of this bass as I would with an Edan or Ampeg, but hey... It plays nicer than anything I've owned... One thing however....

I have been playing guitar and bass for about 13 years and have been in numerous bands. I'm just starting to broaden my horizons now and am interested in jazz and other forms of music aside from the heavy music I've been accustomed to. This happens as you get older I guess. I was online last night surfing this site as well as looking at some of the lessons on Activebass.com and realized something.

I SUCK! That's right.. I know virtually no theory and I'm slower than molasses in March. The one good thing going for me is that I can tap very fast with my fingers and I seem to be ok at popping and pulling. The finger runs are what I need to work on. That and theory itself. Learning scales and modes and memorizing these is going to be no easy task. Oh well... It will make life interesting. Anyone humbled lately?

Knavery

2. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    I've been humbled since the day I picked up the bass, almost 2 years ago now.

I have a thread in this (GI) forum called "I've assembled a spreadsheet on modes" or something to that affect. Check out the spreadsheet, maybe that will help you with modes. It's helped me.

If you don't have Excel you can get an Excel viewer at this location.

3. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Denver, CO