1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Icon/Turser/Epiphone Viola??

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Rickochet, Mar 30, 2009.

1. Rickochet

Rickochet

Mar 30, 2009
    Hi all, I'm new to the bass (and to the forum), and would like the benefits of your experience. My goal is strictly recreational, to play Beatles and comparable stuff as a hobby. I can't afford a German-made Hofner and would like to know which among the "cheapies" - Hofner Icon, Jay Turser, Epiphone Viola - is the best alternative, sound/playability/quality-wise. Thanks, and nice to be with you all!

Rick

2. Check out the Douglas violin basses at rondomusic.com also. They are probably the least expensive violin basses and I'd bet they are made in the same factory as the Turser and Epiphone.

Rick B.

3. rfclef

rfclef

Jan 19, 2007
    Woodburn, Oregon
    I have the Epiphone, and I love it... the Douglas does look very similar... I personally like the vol vol tone 3 knob setup that the epi (and the douglas, I think) has... One thing I also like is that the Epi has a Zero Fret... I just like the Zero fret... most of my basses have em... EPI gets my vote, but you would probably like the Douglas too

4. Hi.

Welcome to TalkBass Rick.

Once, a long time ago I had the Epi, and while nothing spectacular, it was a decent instrument that I can recommend.

If the looks aren't the most important aspect, but the sound, check (Google ;)) for 60's Höfner 182.

Looks like a Jag/Strat, but has the same pickups and same kind of neck as the "real deal", but for a fraction of the price.

Regards
    Sam

5. I had the Viola some years ago and felt it was more solid than the Icons I've played of late. I don't know if the newer, less expensive Violas share that qulaity, but it felt really durable and less toy-like than an Icon--IMHO.

6. DeanT

DeanT Send lawyers, guns and money...