1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ignoramus trying to right that...

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by jayscheuerle, Nov 12, 2010.

1. Glad I found this forum. Reminds me of the first time I bought a telescope. Lots of people steering you away from imported junk and more than willing to spend your money. :D

I've been playing electric bass for two years with little instruction, completely as a hobby. My 14 yr. old daughter takes lessons and is better than me. The double bass, as a jazz instrument, has always been where my heart lies, not because I know the names of the musicians or even the names of the songs that they play. I just like the sound. I like the feel. The wandering groove...

For the most part, I've played from tabs. There was some time spent with a Hal Leonard book learning the bass scale, but I'll need to revisit that.

My dad passed away over the summer and he knew of my desire to play the upright, so as a parting gift, he said he wanted to buy me one, making it clear that he didn't want to get me a POS or alternately break the bank, but something in the middle. After doing some reading, I realize that he had NO IDEA how expensive these things can get.

I'm more than fine with the idea that this is simply a hobby of mine that may or may not last, but if I'm spending his money, I want to be wise with it. My idea is to put this gift cash towards a combination of a good starter instrument and a year's worth of lessons. Even if it falls away as an area of interest of mine (I have many), it's probably something I'll look forward to picking up every once in a while (okay, not literally picking up) just for pleasure's sake. Besides, they look beautiful.