1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ignorant Newbie Question

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by Gravedigger Dav, Aug 12, 2019 at 1:46 PM.

1. Gravedigger Dav

Gravedigger Dav Supporting Member

Mar 13, 2014
    Fort Worth, Texas
    I'm just getting started with home recording. Here is my current setup.
    Windows 10 Desktop PC 64 bit.
    Audacity software.
    Behringer Xenyx X1204USB mixer.
    MXL dynamic mic (2)
    I ususally do 1 track at at time, but sometimes I put acoustic guitar and vocal down together for me to learn the bass parts. Not me on the guitar and vocal.
    It seems I'm getting acceptable sound.
    Here is the question. The guitar player says I would get better sound if I use an interface instead of the mixer. Seems to me the mixer adds some features not available on the interfaces I have seen. Is he right?

2. silky smoove

silky smoove Supporting Member

May 19, 2004
    Seattle, WA
    The mixer IS an interface. Yes, it has some additional features, but none of them really matter once the recording is in the digital domain.

And I likes this.
  3. And I

And I Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2009
    Witchtown, MA
    The MXL dynamic mics would seem to me to be the weak link here--especially for acoustic guitar. Condenser mics are almost always better for acoustic guitar, all other things being equal. A good budget option is the audio-technica AT-2020. this will also give you a better sound for vocals (you will need to use a pop-filter). to use this mic with your mixer, make sure the "phantom" switch is turned on, but only AFTER the mic is plugged in. the phantom switch won't do anything with a dynamic mic, but is required for most condenser mics.

Ronzo likes this.
  4. akrachanko

akrachanko Supporting Member

Mar 9, 2014
    Western Pennsylvania