I'm pretty stuck. ( check this out)

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassAddict05, Jan 1, 2005.

1. bassAddict05

Jan 1, 2005
    What up all. New member to this site. Anyways I have been playing bass for about 6 months now. Getting better by the day. Can play alot of covers and have some originals with couple buddies who play guitar. my problem is, making up grooves even better. I dont get how a C major scale , how you can transform it into something righteous and out of this world. I have a book, Bas for dummies ( by patrick p. ) great book but I still kind of dont understand. Maybe someone could explain to me, or stuff like Cmajor7.....whats the 7 for ...stuff like that, Thanks.
  2. FUNKonthewall

FUNKonthewall Nailing The Groove

Sep 29, 2004
    Atlanta, GA
    Endorsing: Fodera Guitars, Aguilar Amps, Dunlop/MXR Accessories
    First thing: get lessons. This will help you immensely.

When you see a CMaj7 chord this means that the chord is comprised of the 1st, 3rd, 5th, and 7th scale degrees. The notes are C, E, G, B. If you've got piano nearby, play these notes as a chord. You'll hear what a Major 7th chord sounds like. Once you learn which scales and modes to play under the different chords, it'll open up a world of new ideas. Knowing how to do this is essentially the nuts and bolts of writing jazz basslines. Good luck!
  3. bassAddict05

Jan 1, 2005
    well Im not going to get lessons. I dont have the money plus I feel like I can teach myself pretty good......but not good enough yet. Anyways, thanks for explaining but maybe expand more on......how ic an comebine Cmajor scale with D major scale and still make it sound good , or stuff like that, thanks
  4. Aaron

Jun 2, 2001
    Bellingham, WA
    Learning information can happen from anywhere, but where a teacher will help you is learning how to apply it.

Combining scales such as C maj and D maj isn't exactly a beginner's topic. So I'd hold off on that for a while.