1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm tired of searching...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by west*coast*bass, Mar 16, 2009.

1. west*coast*bass

west*coast*bass Supporting Member

Dec 6, 2003
    Agoura Hills, CA
    So far I have not found the bass that really speaks to me. I have owned so many, including a few custom made basses and I really would like to find something that I want to keep for more than a year.

I have been playing bass for 30 years and want something that can transition from old school jazz tone to hard hitting funk to smooth fingerstyle. I need something that is active/passive and need the passive tone control. I want something lightweight - let's face it, I'm getting old and can't sling a 10lb bass anymore.

I know I have to go down the custom road one more time to get something to stick but I'm having a hard time figuring out which way to go. I prefer the traditional jazz design and know that I need a 5 string. I really want ONE BASS that will work for all of the gigs and recording I do!!! I don't want to fool with this endless game anymore!!!

I know all of the cats building well enough to know who's making what. It may be that I go back to a brand I have used in the past to have a bass made for me that I know will work for all of my musical applications...

I guess I am wondering if anyone else feels the same way. Any of you tired of chasing the one bass you can use for every application?

So you all know, I have owned Alleva-Coppolo, Sadowsky, LowEnd, Garz, Stambaugh, F Bass, R Bass, Hanewinckel, Ric, Fender, Brubaker, Yamaha, Elrick, MTD (USA and import), Lakland, Ibanez, Matt Pulcinella, Roscoe, Alembic and Modulus. Yeah, I know...that's a lot of basses and I certianly didn't own them at the same time. If I had a few of these now I'm sure one would make the cut.