Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Impedance?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Drei, Jun 12, 2004.

1. Drei

Drei

May 11, 2004
    First of all, I apologize in advance if this question has been answered before, but I tried some searches and couldn't get the answer I needed.

I'm a fairly new bassist, and have been looking to upgrade from my little practice amp. I have a pretty good understanding of wattage, but I also noticed that there are impedance ratings given to amps. I was just wondering what the difference between 8 ohms and 4 ohms is, what that does to the sound/power, and why one might be prefereable to the other.

2. BenderR

BenderR

Jun 1, 2004
    Tucson, AZ
    Impedance is a characteristic of an AC circuit that accounts the DC resistance of the circuit as well as the capacitance and inductance of the circuit which only come into play with AC and are affected by the frequency of the AC.

All you need to know is that the impedance of you speakers must match you amp's output needs. With solid-state amps this becomes critical. Most tube amps will tolerate some level of impedance mismatch but SS can't handle it. Some speaker cabinets are switchable so that they can be matched to a variety of amps. I wouldn't suggest one impedance over another, just make sure that you can match the impedance of your speakers and your amp.

There are differences in output power if the same amp is driving a different load. An amp that produces 100 watts into 8 ohms will produce 200 watts into 4 ohms. This is actually very little difference in volume because the relationship of volume to power is logarithmic and not linear. The effect of doubling the wattage is barely discernable.