Importance of a teacher?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bassline_Delux, Jul 20, 2004.

1. Exactly how important is having a teacher?

I've been playing for about 4 years now. I had about 6 lessons when I first started, and my teacher wasn't even a bass player, just a good guitar player teaching bass, which was ****. So anyway, that was crap, so I decided to just teahc myself. So, now, 4 years later here I am, doin' pretty well I think but I'm wondering if it would make a big, positive, difference to my playing, and would there be significant improvement if I got myself a bass teacher?
  2. Jazzin'

Jazzin' ...Bluesin' and Funkin'

you would probably know ALOT more theory if you had a teacher. my only teacher is a general music teacher. i think i want to get bass lessons though.
  3. WillPlay4Food

WillPlay4Food Now With More Metal! Staff Member Supporting Member

Apr 9, 2002
    Orbiting HQ
    Definitely go for lessons. The first 1.5 years I played I took lessons and it helped me to bloom as a bassist and started me on the path to finding my own "voice" on the bass.
  4. dave_clark69

dave_clark69 Guest

Jan 17, 2003
    I would say that you are correct. My mate doesn't have lessons, i do. He has been playing a year more than me. i am better than him- because of lessons. Your right, you do learn more theory. But! The main reason i am better than him is because of technique. Simple thing like slap. My teacher said that if you do a muted slap you must make it sound like hitting a bald man with a herron.
    Bit random, but lessons do help on
    1. Technique
    2. Theory
    3. Getting those important grades
  5. thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    I have been working with a teacher for the last 6 months, for the first time ever. My playing has improved DRAMATICALLY in all areas - Rhythm, groove, note choices, technique, solos, all the subtle stuff, finding my own sound, and I am learning Jazz, which I wouldn't have braved alone.